Avoiding the DL or How I learned to stop worrying about carpal tunnel and love ergonomics

Your hobby shouldn’t get you down and it definitely shouldn’t wear you down but since getting back into the game recently I’ve noticed some tingling in the hands and a bit of shoulder stiffness.  This is no good.  Digging around here I decided to rethink my situation and get with the times.  While I’ve had a high table for a while I didn’t fully commit to it… until now.  The table is back in the bead room and I now stand on a cushy little mat while I bead.  I’ve also added extra lighting for my peepers!

Here’s a quick synopsis of how it all went down:
Phase one: “This is really awkward, but nobody is watching so who cares, right?”

Phase two:  “Okay, seems normal… the word posture has made it’s way back into my vocabulary.”

Phase three:  “Just a normal day, no tingling, no shoulder tightness – transition complete.”
Standing bead table

Standing: All the cool kids are doing it.

For all you crafty types out there:  It may take a little adjustment, but don’t give up what makes you happy (unless the things that make you happy could also get you arrested – we can discuss limits next time).

Some other great resources which have kept me balanced, aligned and upright after awkward slips on ice, random baby holding and over zealous running exploits:
I particularly found Rolfing useful for that holistic symmetry, my favorite Rolfer, Amy Iadarola, summed it up nicely,
“Rolfing can release the flexor retinaculum, a fibrous structure that enwraps your wrist and can compress the tunnel through which your carpal nerve runs. Rolfing can also address any muscle/tissue imbalances in your arm, shoulder, and neck if they are contributing to the nerve irritation. Rolfing is similar to massage but works with the deeper connective tissues of the body. It can be particularly helpful for correcting poor posture and addressing repetitive motion injuries like carpal tunnel syndrome.”
I’ve also turned to ART for any sports type injuries.  Both are similar modalities and focus more on the real root of the issue rather than treating just the symptom.

Get back to enjoying your hobby (and sit up straight)!

2 thoughts on “Avoiding the DL or How I learned to stop worrying about carpal tunnel and love ergonomics

  1. Glad you flexor retinaculumi are doing better:) the studio looks kick ass by the way! Can’t wait to see more pics!

Leave a Reply

