Surviving Tucson Series #5: Leaving with no regrets (I wish I knew then what I know now…)

I did WHAT?!?!

I did WHAT?!?!

Like getting a tattoo, you leave Tucson a little tired, and in a little pain with one thing in mind:  I want to do it again!

Do it right the first time – avoid regretting what you DIDN’T do.

Tucson goes by quick, it’s hard to remember all the details of each stone or bead…  which makes it difficult to order another of that favorite stone you lost.  Think back to something you were wearing when you got a great compliment:  Could you tell them what it is and where you got it? I always take notes on the go, it helps me remember things like name of stones, where I got them, and how much they cost.  When I get home I can piece together the blur that was my trip to Tucson.

Don’t leave wanting to do it again because you missed out – some more of my personal rules (and examples) to leaving the show regret free:

  • Cabochons – my great weakness: When I’m at the shows I’m always on the hunt for unique cabochons.  Different stones and cuts, I’m always a sucker for cabs.  I feel like I can do anything with one.

    Click to see more photos on our storefront

    Cabochons! You are my kryptonite!

  • If you see something you fall in love with, buy it. You might not get a chance to come back. Remember the one that got away?  The things I regret are not the items I purchased, but the ones I didn’t.
  • Always keep an open mind, my favorite buy from Tucson was a pendant with an Irish half penny from 1972 with a silver bail. I’m not sure why, but I had to have it. I wear it almost every day.

That said, do not go blindly into the Tucson Bead Show.  Do your homework, know how much the real thing would typically go for. In some countries a vendor will deeply discount the first sale of the day for good luck and the last sale of the day because they want one more sale before packing it up.  Keep this in mind and leave Tucson with no regrets!

What’s the one thing you wished you knew before going to the Tucson bead show?

Leave a Reply

