Happy HallowThanksMas…?

I hope everyone had a great Labor Day weekend with family, friends, and hopefully a beer or two! With Labor Day over and gone, the end of Summer goes with it and so begins Fall. My morning walks have certainly gotten a little chillier and there is that distinct Fall smell in the air. You know what I’m talking about. As you know, I love Fall and just about everything that comes with it except for one thing: Christmas decorations on display right now. As an avid lover of all things Christmas (I start listening to Christmas music November 1st), this upsets me.

Turducken anyone?

Happly HallowThanksMas!

I recently came across the phrase Happy HallowThanksMas; referring to the morphing of three major holidays in Fall/Winter: Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. This phrase really sums up big retailers’ need to start the holidays earlier each year, which of course brings an overwhelming feeling to consumers to get Christmas shopping done earlier. It’s hard to enjoy each individual holiday while seeing the next big holiday decorations out in full force.

Dragon Mamma

Who’s going as Khaleesi for Halloween?

I love/love Halloween.  Why should this holiday get overrun by eating and shopping? At this point, all I want to think about is my Halloween costume and what type of candy I should hand out. My workbench is currently covered with skulls, witches, and Dragon Mother Amulets (stay tuned, we’ll unveil our Halloween line shortly!). However, I don’t need thoughts of the infamous turducken distracting my brain.

What do you think?  Are we missing out on the full holiday effect by looking too far ahead?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

