Denver Mineral, Fossil, and Gem Show – A Recap

collage

80K fossils, crystal collections, and new beads! OH MY!

Have you ever stood next to a crystal taller than you?

How about a $80k fossilized turtle?

This past weekend, I headed over to the Denver Mineral, Fossil, and Gem show to check out the show and see if I could find inspiration and maybe some new beads… 🙂 In the past, I’ve pretty much stuck to bead shows (except for Tucson) but the addition of fossils made for an interesting day! The Denver show is quickly becoming one of the larger gem and mineral shows, and made for a great day: Not only did I get to check out new stones, crystals and beads (could have stayed there all day), but I saw amazing crystal formations, fossils, and to scale replica dinosaur fossils. I mean, just nuts!

All in all, I was inspired by many of the things I saw and happy with the new beads I picked up. If you’ve never been to a show, I recommend it; learning the cost of fossilized turtles, leaves, and seeing massive geodes and crystals was amazing!

Have you been to the Denver show? What did you think?

4 thoughts on “Denver Mineral, Fossil, and Gem Show – A Recap

  1. I’m a big fan of gem and mineral shows, though I haven’t been to any in Denver. It’s amazing seeing the huge quartz cathedrals, boxes and boxes full of sparkling gemstones in all colors, and pristine fossil collections that I would probably never find on my own or even afford to buy them. The jewelry is really pretty, too (I’m a big amber fan). I hope you said hi to the Denver rock clubs while you were there.

    • Thanks for chiming in! While not as big as Tucson, Denver is gaining popularity and I especially liked that it was easy to get into. Definitely impressed by their outdoor selection, I’m a sucker for Fire Opal myself! What’s the best gem show you’ve been to?

Leave a Reply

